I’ve not been around much.  And those of you on Twitter, Facebook and here have probably started to wonder where I have been.  I assure you I am fine.  I have just been very busy.  And a bit sidetracked with other things to get my weekly posts done.  As far as Facebook and Twitter go.  I guess I have just been quiet.  So here is what I have been doing:

Working.

Oh how I love and hate my day job at the same time.  The last two weeks I worked sixteen hours of overtime.  They have decided to unveil a new system at work, and I was chosen to be one of the trainers on this new system.  While the system will make one aspect of our job so much easier, it takes time to teach everyone.  Work already takes over 40 hours a week of my life.  It would be great to make my writing and editing my day job.

Plasma Frequency. 

Now here is one project I love to do.  But let me tell you how much work it takes.  Issue 4 has been one of our best and most highly read issues to date.  That is great news.  But the talent submitting to us has become so good that picking just eight to ten stories every two months has become very difficult.  Even my earlier reading editors are finding it harder to reject stories.  I think it is great to see so much talent coming to our magazine.  As a writer, I love to see other writers succeed.  As a business man, I love to see some of these big names seeing my publication as worthy of their work.  As an editor, well my work has become a lot harder.  For issue five I had to narrow down 25 great stories to just the eight that would fit in our issue.  That is hard work, and very time consuming.  I debated for a long time on many of those stories.

Speaking of Business.

I had two magazines approach my company, Plasma Spyglass, and ask if we would be interested in taking over their magazine’s production.  I won’t name the magazines, but I will say I think they are great publications.  So I had to make some tough business choices over the last few weeks.  While Plasma Spyglass does have every intention of putting out more magazines, I had not expected to do it so soon.  Plasma Frequency is not even one year old yet.  And for the time being we are going to focus on growing that publication first.  We still have the goal of advancing our pay rates to pro-rates, and I want to follow through on that.  Plus we have our year one anthology coming soon.  And we will be announcing more about that in Issue 5.  So much is going on, or about to go on, with Plasma Frequency that I had to pass on these other two great offers.  But don’t count us out.  I think Plasma Spyglass will be publishing a number of different publications by 2014.  And by 2018, I suspect we will be doing very well in the short fiction market place.

We do have plans for a charitable anthology coming soon.  Once I have heard back from the charitable organization, more details will come.  We are also considering many other great things.  So, needless to say business has taken up a lot of my time outside of work.

Writing.

Just last week I finally got more written into my next novel.  I plan to make an announcement on that one very soon.  The first draft should be completed by next week (fingers crossed).  After which I will begin rereading and editing.  And, I plan to contact a cover artist soon.  So I am thinking that I will announce the release date with the cover art in April.  Get ready for this one, it promises to be a great one.

Speaking of great books, the sales for Dissolution of Peace have faltered a bit.  I think this is because all of my great followers now own a copy.  So it is time I branch out and reach some new followers.  I am planning on doing a blog tour.  Perhaps in May?  Maybe sooner.  I would really love one in April.  But scheduling these things takes time (as I am am learning).  So I plan to get that underway soon.  Watch for more details on that.  Make sure to share some love with those blogs that host my tour.

Chores.

I thought I was a grown up now and work was my chore.  Well the front and back lawns seem to disagree.  There is a ton of yard work to do around here, and I get stuck doing it.  Some people love that stuff.  Time in the yard pulling weeds, mowing the grass, that is fun for them.  For me, not so much.  I’d much prefer to hire a landscaper and just admire how great it looks when they are done.  But writers can’t afford landscapers, and besides my wife would insist we got a maid first.

Family time.

My family and I don’t see each other much right now.  My wife works on the days I am off, and I work when she is off.  My hours don’t lend well to having school age kids, as I am at work all afternoon and evening when they are home.  When I get home, they are in bed.  So I have been trying to make some extra time for them around all this other madness.  I took my kids to their first professional hockey game, actually their first ever hockey game.  My middle child was so overly excited, it was a great thing to see.  Besides that, I try to make some time for TV, movies, and other activities with them.  Family is important.  More important than everything else I’ve listed here.  So I make time for them and I hope someday my kids will really appreciate the fact that their dad pursued his dream to publish novels.  I also hope that one day, I’ll make just enough money on my dream that I don’t have to “work” any more.  Ah, the good life.

Leave a Reply

