I’ve spent a lot of time hinting and implying that I just might want to start publishing fiction again.  Most of you know that I really miss putting our Plasma Frequency.  Well, I’ve made the choice to return to publishing with an all new publication, Factor Four Magazine.

The website is still being built, but I couldn’t wait to share the plans for this great magazine.  Some of this information could change, but this is the idea for the magazine.

Capture

What will we publish?

We will publish mostly flash fiction.  We will have a 2,000 word count per story maximum, but all of the budgeting for the issue is based on 1,000 words or less.  So that basically means we will focus our acceptances on true flash fiction.  We will publish Speculative Fiction with a focus on Science Fiction, Fantasy, Supernatural, Super Hero, or the blend of any of those genres.

We will be a magazine published to an adult audience so some foul language and sexual content would be accepted provided it fits with a well rounded story.  Erotica will not be published.

Theme issues will play some part in our publication, but I am not sure at what level.  I’ll definitely want to do holiday themes when the time of year comes around.

How will we publish?

We will be a quarterly publication featuring 16 stories per issue.  The first issue will be released in April 2018.  We will publish in print, eReader, and online format with subscriptions and single issue options for these.  The cost per issue and subscription has not yet been decided.

Author Compensation

Since much of my readership are authors, I am sure most of you are wondering what we will be paying authors.  We will pay 8 US cents per word or US $60 which ever is more.  We also plan to do some other compensation with regard to a free issue, but that isn’t a guarantee.

Artists will be paid $200 per issue for cover art.

Submissions are planned to open December 1 this year.

How can I find out more?

Factor Four is on Twitter and Facebook and we to have the website.

While I have said “we” a lot currently the staff on this magazine consists of just myself.  I’d like to be bring back some of the editorial practices used at Plasma Frequency, but I’ll need an editorial staff.  While I haven’t officially started asking anyone to join the team, if you are interested you can always reach out to me.  Eventually I will have more explanations of opportunities on the website.

I can’t wait to get this magazine started and return to publishing great fiction!

One thought on “Announcing Factor Four Magazine

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.